All events

Left out in the cold – the Green Coo­ling po­ten­ti­al of the glo­bal win­dow ty­pe air con­di­tio­ner mar­ket   

Event - OEWG & MOP , 16 July 2021, 10:00am - 11:00am UTC

This event will take place online. Register now and receive the access link via e-mail.

Join the virtual side-event at the 43rd Meeting of the Open-ended Working Group of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (OEWG) and learn more about the global window type air conditioner market and its Green Cooling potential. 

(opens enlarged image)

Despite the increasing market growth of split-type air conditioners, window-type ACs still have stable markets in many regions, accounting for about 13 million sales annually. Most of these sold units are featured with a low energy performance and highly climate-damaging HCFC-22 (GWP 1800) and HFC-410A (GWP 2088). However, their compactness, small refrigerant charge and simple installation perfectly qualify them for HC-290 (GWP of 1), holding large efficiency and climate benefits on scale.

In this side event we will zoom into most dominant regional markets, unfold the GHG mitigation potential that would result from a timely transition to HC-290 (GWP of 1), and discuss design and safety aspects of R290 window-type ACs.

Join us and learn more about the Green Cooling potential of window type ACs!

Agenda

Topic

Speaker

Introduction to global window type air conditioner marketPhilipp Munzinger, GIZ Proklima

Transition to R290 and GHG mitigation pathways

Irene Papst, HEAT GmbH
Development of high efficiency window air conditioner using propane under limited charge

Bo Shen, Building Technologies Research and Integration Center, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Testing of an R290 window-type AC

Isagani Soriano, Lighting and Appliances Testing Laboratory, Department of Energy, Philippines
Safety aspectsDaniel Colbourne, Re-phridge, c/o HEAT GmbH

Q&A

All
ClosingPhilipp Munzinger, GIZ Proklima
Location
This event will take place online. Register now and receive the access link via e-mail.
Date / Duration
16 July 2021, 10:00am - 11:00am UTC

Time: 12:00 am - 1:00 pm CEST/UTC+2 (German time) | 1:00 – 2:00 pm (Nairobi time) | 5:00-6:00 pm (Bangkok time)

Register here for the event

Fields marked with asterisks ("*") are required

About Pro­kli­ma

(opens in a new window)

For 25 years already, Proklima has been promoting integrated ozone and climate protection in the cooling sector worldwide, focusing on the use of natural refrigerants and foam blowing agents.

More events